VGMA:Artiste of the year winners since 1999

Ghana music awards festival established in 1999 has over the years appreciated the hard work of Ghanaian musicians. Since its inception, musicians and industry stakeholders have held it in high esteem even though there have been some allegations and scandals surrounding it.

Aside all the awards given to respective winners of various categories, the artist of the year is the ultimate award every artist looks up to.

 In the first eight (8) editions of the Vodafone Ghana Music Awards, the most revered prize was the Song of the Year award.

The winner of this prestigious award is the musician adjudged by the Academy, Board and public as having the highest audience appeal and popularity.The artist of the year must have also released a hit song/album and organized his/her own show during the year under review.

As music lovers gird up for the second part of this year’s event, brings to you all winners of this category since its inception in 1999.

1999 – Akyeame

2000 -Daddy Lumba

2001– Kojo Antwi

2002 – Lord Kenya

2003 – Kontihene

2004 – VIP

2005 – Obour

2006 – Ofori Amponsah

2007 – Samini

2008 – Kwaw Kese

2009 – Okyeame Kwame

2010 – Sarkodie

2011 – V.I.P

2012 – Sarkodie

2013 – R2bees

2014 – Shatta Wale

2015 – Stonebwoy

2016 – E.L

2017 – Joe mettle

2018 – Ebony Reigns

2019 – Organisers failed to announce the winner.

Who would be adjudged its 19th ‘Artiste of the Year’? Could it be Kofi Kinaata, Diana Hamilton or Kuami Eugene, Sarkodie or Medikal.

1 thought on “VGMA:Artiste of the year winners since 1999

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *